back & forth


I took her to a supermarket. I don’t know why. But I had to start it somewhere. So it started there.

In fact she took me to a supermarket and it indeed kicked in and inspired me for re-birth of my blogging experience.

I know I am blogging too little and too randomly. But what to do. This happens when blogging is not your hobby (who the f**k has one?) and there is no one else who pays your bills.

So, let me come back to the idea of my blog. Back in 2010 I made a list of places in Riga I wanted to suggest to some Canadian guys coming over for a bachelor party (what a surprise! ok Canada may surprise you). Already then I apologised to all those nice places I left behind. I was certain it will be a good one I just some how happened to forget or did not remember… Mea culpa.

Osīris is one of that places. Special place 4 special people. It has a bit of that Twin Peaks atmosphere, perhaps because of that art deco interior (some how reminds me of cafés in Vienna or Paris).

IMG_0029

IMG_0027 IMG_0028

I tried to find a sophisticated tune for this place, but all I was thinking of was that Wicked Game which perhaps is played there by its learned & historical clientele.

Mākonis

I know it is totally from different shelf, but isn’t decadence all about that going down? But no offence, I really liked this place (apart from ceiling). In English it means Cloud and the cute baby I saw there made me remember HIM. Yes, him and also my dad, who thought me a lot about his music. Yes, all kind of music (and not only mathematics as most people would think). So RIP, David, and see you on the day of execution.

IMG_0056



Coming back to this café, I must say thumbs up goes for its being outside the Old Riga. In fact it was firstly opened in Old Town (I even did not happen to go there until it was closed and re-opened here). So the clientele surely will be more locals and less random tourists … I really loved starring at all those kitschy things in the interior. In fact I just found out at their web page that Mākonis is a café, cocktail bar and interior design studio. Now it makes sense why all those little details where so cute here.

IMG_0039

IMG_0040

Pagalms

If some one still remembers META KAFE, yes, it was firstly opened right here. Afterwards it moved to Spīķeri, until sadly was closed down back in 2010. I so much loved META KAFE. I guess it was my first brunching experience in Riga long before it became ultra or even way too popular thing on those lazy Saturday and Sunday mornings…

The new place Pagalms (yard in English) re-opened last summer. I guess location wise it is perfect. Almost in the middle of marvellous park, next to canal (one of few in Riga – yes, yes, I miss my Amsterdam), behind our National Theatre and right next to tennis court (love that sound when balls are knocked off … very sexual healing … balls and knocking up says everything I’m thinking of right now).

What I liked here was its mindful & a bit junky interior. And of course that green colour. Perhaps emerald now is my favorite crayon?

IMG_9936


IMG_9934IMG_9935IMG_9937

Food wise I would say prices were a bit overrated but perhaps this is how they make those who like wailing too much to stay away. I would not mind going there again to try some of their foody moody cakes, mango mousse, and all that veggie-meggie crap. Crap in a good way.

For the time being this is it. I end where I started. This time with him …

He walks away, the sun goes down, he takes the day, but I’m grown, and in your way, in this blue shade, my tears dry on their own …

 

 

 

About LigaRiga

me, myself and I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to back & forth

  1. Zuzu says:

    Finally! I’m back on track in that jungle of moody foody cafes in Riga! Yesss…

Leave a Reply

